Synergy awards support collaborative research among health sciences schools, faculty

The Woodruff Health Sciences Center (WHSC) has announced the six winning proposals for its first cycle of Synergy Awards. The awards will support collaborative projects among faculty at Emory University School of Medicine, Rollins School of Public Health, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing and all other units in the WHSC.

Proposals for the Synergy Awards are required to include faculty members with primary appointments in at least two schools as co-principal investigators. The awards are intended to support new, highly innovative projects that are not yet funded or published.

Synergy Awards offer up to $100,000 in support for an award term of one year, with potential carryover to a second year under special circumstances.

NS faculty member, James J. Lah, MD, PhD (Department of Neurology, School of Medicine) is one of three investigators receiving honor for their award-winning proposal, Relationship of the Gut Microbiome to Neurodegeneration in Alzheimer’s Disease.

Click here to view the full story in the Emory News Center.