Huw Davies, 2019 National Award Recipient

Huw M. L. Davies, Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Chemistry, won the Herbert C. Brown Award for Creative Research in Synthetic Methods, sponsored by the Purdue Borane Research Fund and the Herbert C. Brown Award Endowment. This national awards program is administered by the American Chemical Society (ACS) and is designed to encourage the advancement of chemistry in all its branches, to support research in chemical science and industry, and to promote the careers of chemists. Davies’s research emphasizes the development of new enantioselective synthetic methods and their applications in total synthesis and drug discovery. His program covers design of chiral catalysts, carbenoid chemistry, development of new synthetic methodology, total synthesis of biologically active natural products, and development of chiral therapeutic agents.

Dr. Davies is a faculty member in the MSP program.

For more information, please visit the ACS National Awards page.

This story was featured in the October 8, 2018 Issue of ThoughtWork, Volume 19, Issue 7.