Emory professor named Cottrell Scholar for outstanding contributions to science

The Research Corporation for Science Advancement has named Emory professor Gordon Berman as one of the 24 recipients of the prestigious and highly competitive 2019 Cottrell Scholar Awards. The Cottrell Scholar Award recognizes early-career teacher-scholars for outstanding contributions to science and citizenship.

Berman will receive $100,000 toward a three-year project integrating his teaching and research. As part of his award, Berman will attend two Cottrell Scholar Conferences to participate in a community of scholars from around the United States.

Berman, an assistant professor of biology, joins four distinguished Emory faculty members who also have earned the prestigious Cottrell Scholar Awards: Hayk Harutyunyan, physics, 2018; Minsu Kim, physics, 2017; Jennifer Heemstra, chemistry, 2015; and Sergei Urazhdin, physics, 2008.

Dr. Berman is a NS faculty member and Dr. Kim is a faculty member in the MMG and PBEE programs.

Click here to view the full story in the Emory News Center.