Welcome from the Director

Emory’s graduate program in Neuroscience (NS) combines instruction in professional development with multidisciplinary scientific training to promote a successful career in neuroscience. Research training in the NS Program spans multiple domains of scientific inquiry, and most faculty undertake projects that transcend individual categories.

Robert Liu

NS faculty research areas of inquiry

Drawn from over 20 separate departments and centers, NS faculty research efforts can be broadly separated into the following areas of inquiry:

On behalf of our collegial and highly-engaged academic community, I welcome you to learn more about our program through this web portal.

Program Leadership

Robert Liu, PhD, Professor, Biology

Director of Graduate Studies:
Year 1-2, John R. Hepler, PhD, Professor, Pharmacology
Year 3+, Shannon Gourley, PhD, Associate Professor, Pediatrics

Director of Recruitment:
Gordon Berman, PhD, Assistant Professor, Biology
Negar Fani, PhD, Assistant Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
David Katz, PhD, Assistant Professor, Cell Biology

Interim Program Administrator:
Kathy Smith

MD/PhD Liaison:
Steven Sloan, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor, Human Genetics

Executive Committee:

Robert Liu - Program Director, Biology

Gordon Berman - Biology

Michael Borich - Rehabilitation Medicine

Negar Fani - Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Jennifer Felger - Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Candace Fleischer - Radiology

Shannon Gourley - Pediatrics

John Hepler - Pharmacology and Chemical Biology

Ellen Hess - Pharmacology and Chemical Biology

Dieter Jaeger - Biology

Stella Papa - Neurology

Astrid Prinz - Biology

Leah Roesch - Neuroscience and Behavioral Biology

Timothy Sampson - Physiology

Sarah Shultz - Pediatrics

Steven Sloan - Human Genetics

Yoland Smith - Neurology

Sam Sober - Biology

Jennifer Stevens - Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences

Larry Young - Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Rachel Bear

Jarildy Javier

NS Committees

Co-Chairs: Gordon Berman, Negar Fani, David Katz

Members: Mike Caudle, Anita Devineni, Negar Fani (DEI Liaison), Madeleine Hackney, Chad Hales, Trisha Kesar, Malavika Murugan, Opal Ousley, Chris Rodgers, Steven Sloan, Yoland Smith

Student Members: Olufisayo Aloba, Sarah Blumenthal, Maha Rashid

Sarah Shultz (Chair), Art English, Jie Jiang, Malavika Murugan, David Weinshenker

Chair: Jennifer Felger 

DEI Liaison: Leah Roesch

Members: Francisco Alvarez, Matt Rowan, Yoland Smith

Student Member: Aiden Ford

Fall: Timothy Sampson, Steven Sloan

Spring: Adriana Galvan, Joe Nocera

Sam Sober (Chair), Hymavathy Balasubramanian

Dieter Jaeger (Chair thru 12/22), Astrid Prinz (Chair starting 1/23), Timothy Sampson, Vasiliki Michopoulos

Annie Goetemoeller, Jennifer Isaac

Student Co-Chairs: Alicia Lane, Yasmine Bassil

Student Members: Fisayo Aloba, Eli Chlan, Saahj Gosrani, Elizabeth Heaton, Alishah Lakhani, Maxine Robinette, Mari Rocha, Jessica Root, Juliet Santiago, Michelle Sequeira, Camille Trautman

Faculty Representatives: Trisha Kesar, Yoland Smith

Faculty Liaisons: Negar Fani, Leah Roesch, Jennifer Stevens