2019 GDBBS Awards Banquet

The 9th Annual GDBBS Awards Banquet was held on April 24, 2019 at the Druid Hills Golf Club.

Download the Event Program (PDF)

Program Scholar of the Year Awardees

Kelsey Maher, BCDB

Advisor: Roger Deal, PhD

Allyson Koyen, CB

Advisor: David Sung-Wen Yu, MD, PhD

Hari Sominen, GMB

Advisors: Gregory Gibson, PhD; Subra Kugathasan, MD

Maria White, IMP

Advisor: Anice Lowen, PhD

Ashley Cross, MMG

Advisor: Joanna Goldberg, PhD

Cameron Herting, MSP

Advisor: Dolores Hambardzumyan, PhD

Arielle Valdez, NS

Advisor: Gary Bassell, PhD

Connor Morozum, PBEE

Advisor: Berry Brosi, PhD

Award Recipients

Graduate Career Award

Amanda Mener, IMP

Advisor: Sean Stowell, MD, PhD

TATTO Teaching Award

Xingwen Loy, PBEE & Matthew Stern, NS/MD-PhD

Advisor: Berry Brosi, PhD / Advisor: Robert Gross, MD, PhD

Student Career Teaching Award

Elizabeth Kline, NS

Advisor: Malú Tansey, PhD

Student Leadership Award

Mary Herrick, NS

Advisor: Malú Tansey, PhD

Outreach/Community Service Award

Andrea Pack, NS & Rachel Turn, BCDB

Advisor: Samuel Sober, PhD / Advisor: Richard Kahn, PhD

Student Mentor Award

Erica Harris, PBEE

Advisor: Nicole Gerardo, PhD

Faculty Mentor Award

Peter Wenner, PhD (NS)

Distinguished Alumni Award

Valerie Horsley, PhD

Associate Professor of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology and Dermatology Yale University

Valerie Horsley began her scientific training as an undergraduate at Furman University and was awarded her Ph.D. from Emory University with Dr. Grace Pavlath in the GDBBS Biochemistry, Cell and Developmental Biology (BCDB) Program, in 2003. After completing a Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation postdoctoral fellowship in Elaine Fuchs laboratory at Rockefeller University, Valerie started her independent laboratory at Yale University in the Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology There, Horsley's lab uses the mouse as a genetic model system to study how adult stem cells within epithelial tissues maintain tissue homeostasis, can contribute to wound healing, and can be a factor in cancer formation. She is now an Associate Professor of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology and Dermatology at Yale, has received a number of awards including the Pew Scholar Award, Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, and the Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award. She is also active in her community, notably running for State Senate in Connecticut in 2018.